please support our sponsors
Register to post messages
chat | guestbook | ibd links | dietary guidelines | faq's | donate | mailing list | support
j-pouch people
The J-Pouch Group    J-Pouch Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  J-Pouch Forums  Hop To Forums  Help! Need advice now!    WHat does a blockage feel like???
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

WHat does a blockage feel like???
 Login/Join 
Picture of Srandall
posted
I have some swelling on my left side and I'm not passing anything. I feel a ton of pressure and it hurts to stand. I can hear and feel air moving around near the spot but it won't go beyond it. I have only been eating oatmeal, yogurt and plain pasta. I am only just over three weeks out of my takedown so I am really new to all of this. What's going on with me????
Sara

Posts: 37 | Location: Aberdeen, NC  | Registered: January 14, 2012Report This Post
Picture of Inflamed&Untamed
posted Hide Post
Hi Sara, my name is Sara too!

I have had numerous partial blockages both with my ostomy and jpouch but not full obstructions. Anway, from what you are describing I would go to the ER if you're not passing ANYTHING at all and you're in serious pain. If you're passing a litle bit it may be a partial blockage and you can either go to the ER or hold off til tomorrow if you can stand it and then go in.

When i've had my blockages I experience extreme pain. Usually always go to the ER because the pain alone is unbearable. I normally would get to the point where I felt like I was filling up, if that makes sense. Like everything I was eating wasn't coming out...just piling up on top of each other and then i'd start throwing up. I was able to have small bowel movements but not much would come out and it would be even looser than usual. Almost like water.

You can try not eating and just doing things like hot tea. That helps a lot of people. Also drinking things that have a laxative effect like grape juice. Walking around if you can.