Skip to main content

Hi. I am new to all of this. I had UC 20 years & during that time- some pretty much major flares. But I was still blessed to meet a wonderful man, & we have been happily married 7 years. During this time I can honestly say we have had a great sex life - enjoyable; pain free....but July, 2014 I had an emergency colectomy, ostomy ,& j pouch formation. We have had sex approx 3 times since this surgery and it has been very painful for me- lots of burning & j pouch pressure. Will it get better? How long does it take to get better? Please advise....
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I had a 1-step in 1995. I resumed sexual activity about 4weeks post-op. I didn't really have pain during intercourse, but did have a lot of pressure and worries about fecal leakage. I found that my ally was position changes. Me on top, side-lying rear entry, that sort of thing. The goal: to reduce presssure on my pouch.

Basically, where there's a will, there's a way...

Jan Wink
Give it time...a lot of time. From reading people's experiences on here, it can be months and months til it gets better. For me, it was horrible after surgery, just as you describe. 6 months after surgery, I got pregnant. It was even worse during pregnancy. Then after my son was born, all the problems just went away, and things are great now. So yes, I say, it will get better!
Following J pouch surgery I found intercourse to be very painful. No amount of lubrication helped. I kept waiting for it to get better. I was eventually prescribed an estrogen tablet to be inserted into the vagina initially for 2 weeks and then 2 or 3 times per week maintenance. Thinning vaginal tissue was the reason for the pain caused by a combination of menopause and prior steroid use. Maybe this will help you also.
I had my k pouch done when I was 18 so I can honestly say that my 'experience' was rather limited.